The Escape Plan

I was deep
Inside this one
With afternoons spent
Swimming
Those seas of
Imagined love and
When she talks
It’s a scary thing –
She talks of
Marriage and she
Talks of babies
And she talks
And talks
And like the fly
Trapped behind the
Wind screen
I can see the light
Just beyond me
I can see
The way out
But she won’t
Quit talking –
She talks of
Love
In frightening tones
“And maybe one
Day we’ll be a
Family,” she
Says
And not even
Those
Barking dogs
Of mine can
Keep her at bay
And not even
My lack of
Enthusiasm
Can discourage
Her
And so
From
Inside the house
I watch
As she
Exits the car and
Heads to the door
And for a moment
I feel like
The fly
Trapped
At the wind screen
Chasing after a
Light
Just beyond
Me

– A. Ramirez

11 thoughts on “The Escape Plan

  1. Here’s a thought – why not be honest with her? Isn’t it worse for both of you – to lead her on and give her false hope – and if you feel trapped then why are staying?
    If people were more honest about their feelings they would be less frustrated and much happier.

      • thank you. i always appreciate your likes and comments. and i enjoy your blog very much,
        haha and don’t worry. i don’t expect you to like all my poems. some of them are duds and some of them rub people the wrong way. lol. 🙂

      • Ha ha, I’m too honest for my own good sometimes…that last post probably rubbed a few people the wrong way (but who gives a shit, hey?! 😉
        I genuinely like your poems & I like that you speak your mind – respect!

Leave a Reply

