Copyrighting Collected Works

I’m curious about copyrighting poems. Particularly with registering the copyright with the United States Copyright Office. I’ve registered my novel, which is an ebook and self published, with them. But far as poetry I am uncertain of the process. On their website it states a book of poetry is not eligible for registration, but single poems are. Does this mean I must register every single one of my poems first, before I do as I intend, which is to collect my poems into a small book of poetry?

At 35 dollars for servicing fee, it seems pretty expensive to register each poem instead of the collected works.

I’d be interested to hear from other poets, specifically self published poets, who have experience with copyrighting.

Leave a Reply

