What It’s Like To Write A Novel

Thought Catalog

At almost every family function I attend it is a given that at least three relatives will approach me, merely to make conversation, and politely ask about my writing before mentioning that they’re impressed that somebody my age could commit to writing a novel. I always smile and shrug and say, “Thanks,” before giving them a one sentence summary of what I do and what I’m writing, so I don’t have to deal with their transparent disinterest and they can go off and hammer four to eight beers. It’s the equivalent of a carpenter laboring over a job site in the hot sun for twelve hours a day and, when asked about their work, summing it up to, “Oh, I built a house.”

Few truly understand how trialing it is to write a book. Many outside of the literary community would look at the task of writing a novel as…

View original post 791 more words

Leave a Reply

