You are a Hummingbird, Humming in My Head

Half asleep I saw you look
towards me, blush

Sad in the eye

Wounded by your
state of undress

Perhaps, or
simply afraid of what
I would think

What emotions are
held in the
face? I wondered

I saw your nose, small
and upturned,
sensual in its
proportions

And what intentions
lead you
forward? I wanted

To ask of you
before I woke

What thoughts
do dreams hold?

Should I bless your
nose? Kiss it?
Place my lips on
your own?

Allow the idea to take form?
Cultivate the dream?

Wherein two eyes sat
lips, nose, small and
upturned, sad

And to which I
fell asleep under

– A. Ramirez

Leave a Reply

