UP!

She buys me beer
in short stubby bottles
tacos, she says
like they make in Mexico
she wears 4 inch heels
because I once remarked
how much I enjoyed
a woman in heels

legs extended and
the small of the back curved
and everything pushed up

up up and up

and I drink my beer and
eat my tacos
while I watch her parade around
the room
demonstrative in her hips

and somewhere outside
I know
the sun is coming up
or going down
the dogs are barking and
there’s a traffic of cars and
a parade of bodies

but I drink my beer
unconcerned by any of it

lazy and content
I remain
while she pushes

up
and up

– A. Ramirez

Leave a Reply

