Libertas is Latin for Liberty

I wish I was smarter
and understood the
mechanics of organic
chemistry

for a lack of intelligence
I start conversations
in hopes of
staying afloat
and retaining
some connection
to the human race

in my youth
I made the mistake
of never
taking my life too seriously
and now the effects
of a teenage rebellion
have matured
into a full blown
delinquency

the spirits are in a happy revolt

to note –
my long hair
was the physical
manifestation
of an adolescent
longing for
individuality
and the cessation
from conventional
behavior

and to note further –
all attempts to assume
a normal life have failed me
and what was once a simple
teenage rebellion
has now matured into a healthy
and well sustained
state of liberty

– A. Ramirez

Leave a Reply

