The Poet and His Muse

I wrote ten
poems for you
the other day
and the night before
that I wrote five more

there is a stack
of words
this high
sitting
on my desk

and a handful more
lying under my bed

I’ve hung some in the closet
and others I’ve put in the fridge
to keep fresh and from spoiling

and the ones
that I couldn’t get down
I simply let them
run wild in the yard
and I’ll deal with them later
when I have time
and I can think of you
freely
and
without compromise

– A. Ramirez

Leave a Reply

