Obscene

Your lips are red
but not from love

but still they
are gracious to me

and you say you’re a virgin –
if not of body then of heart

and I too am a virgin –
awkward and unpracticed
in what you are asking of me

but your lips are willing
and playful –
the virtue
of them is in their pleasure;

bright with youth and naked with youth and so
with youthful enthusiasm
you push your tongue into
my mouth and things
quickly go from the quiet
to the obscene

– A. Ramirez

“Obscene” taken from my new book of poetry “Poems of Love and Perversion”.

Leave a Reply

